Skip to main content

2017 Seattle Asian American Film Festival

About

The Seattle Asian American Film Festival (SAAFF) showcases feature-length and short format films by and about Asian Americans across North America, with an emphasis on filmmakers from the Pacific Northwest. Our next festival takes place Feb. 23rd – 26th, 2017 at SIFF Cinema Egyptian and Northwest Film Forum.

SAAFF is the only film festival in Seattle to provide a space for Asian American voices, perspectives and histories by screening independent films that reflect the diversity and richness of the city’s Asian American community.

shunpike-art

Seattle Asian American Film Festival is an Associated Program of Shunpike. Shunpike is the 501(c)(3) non-profit agency that provides independent arts groups in Washington State with the services, resources, and opportunities they need to forge their own paths to sustainable.

BRIEF HISTORY

From 2003-2007, The Northwest Asian American Film Festival (NWAAFF) directed by Wes Kim showcased works by Asian American filmmakers to Seattle film goers.  With the guidance of Kim, new festival directors Kevin Bang and Vanessa Au revived the program in 2013 and gave the event a new name — Seattle Asian American Film Festival.

 

MEET THE TEAM

Vanessa Au, Co-Director

Vanessa Au
Co-Director
vanessa@seattleaaff.org

Preschool Portrait

Martin Tran
Co-Director
martin@seattleaaff.org

Ernie Lou, Sponsorship Manager

Ernie Lou
Sponsorship Manager
ernie@seattleaaff.org

chris-150px

Chris Woon
Programming Manager
chris@seattleaaff.org

Ellison Hsieh

Ellison Shieh
Project Manager
ellison@seattleaaff.org

Victoria Ju, Volunteer and Event Manager

Victoria Ju
Event Manager
vicky@seattleaaff.org

LeiLani Nishime, Grants Manager

LeiLani Nishime
Grants Manager
leilani@seattleaaff.org

Mariko, Toyoji, Grants Writer

Mariko Toyoji
Community Outreach Manager/Grant Writer
mariko@seattleaaff.org

Rayann Onzuka, Events Manager

Rayann Onzuka
Treasurer
rayann@seattleaaff.org

Andrienne Pilapil, Public Relations Manager

Andrienne Pilapil
Public Relations Manager
andrienne@seattleaaff.org

Adrian Alarilla

Adrian Alarilla
Filmmaker Liaison
adrian@seattleaaff.org

Shaun Mejia

Shaun Mejia
Social Media Manager
shaun@seattleaaff.org

mia

Mia Cao
Business Analyst

b

Brian Park
Web Manager

gerry

Gerry Goto
Videographer


Yayao Liu

Volunteer Coordinator

 

Tiffany Lin, Designer

Tiffany Lin
Designer

Gina McDonald
Creative Consultant

Kevin Bang, Co-Director

Kevin Bang
Advisor

amber-150px

Amber Manuguid
Designer

Wes Kim
Advisor

Denny Kriekenbeek, Advisor

Denny Kriekenbeek
Advisor