About

The Seattle Asian American Film Festival (SAAFF) showcases feature-length and short format films by and about Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders across North America, with an emphasis on filmmakers from the Pacific Northwest.

SAAFF is the only film festival in Seattle to provide a space for Asian American voices, perspectives and histories by screening independent films that reflect the diversity and richness of the city’s Asian American and Pacific Islander communities.

shunpike-art

Seattle Asian American Film Festival is a volunteer-run organization and an Associated Program of Shunpike. Shunpike is the 501(c)(3) non-profit agency that provides independent arts groups in Washington State with the services, resources, and opportunities they need to forge their own paths to sustainable.

BRIEF HISTORY

From 2003-2007, The Northwest Asian American Film Festival (NWAAFF) directed by Wes Kim showcased works by Asian American filmmakers to Seattle film goers.  With the guidance of Kim, new festival directors Kevin Bang and Vanessa Au revived the program in 2013 and gave the event a new name — Seattle Asian American Film Festival.

 LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

We at Seattle Asian American Film Festival would like to acknowledge that we occupy and gather on the unceded ancestral lands of Coast Salish Peoples. Based in the city currently known as Seattle, the land we reside on belongs to the first people of Seattle, the Duwamish tribe (Dkhw Duw’Absh). It is our obligation to stand in solidarity with the Duwamish. As we work towards creating visibility for the Asian American & Pacific Islander communities, we are committed to dismantling ongoing legacies of settler colonialism and other systems of oppression that affect us all. We resist the erasure of Indigenous histories and work towards honoring and inviting truth into this space, and encourage our audiences to learn about whose land they reside on.

For more information on land acknowledgements and to give funds directly to the Duwamish tribe, visit: realrentduwamish.org. Find out whose land you reside on through: native-land.ca

MEET THE TEAM


Vanessa Au
Executive Director, Co-Founder
vanessa@seattleaaff.org

 Victoria Ju
Festival Co-Director
victoria@seattleaaff.org

Ellison Shieh
Festival Co-Director
& Programming Director
ellison@seattleaaff.org

Meghan Armstrong
Sponsorship Manager
meghan@seattleaaff.org

Andrew Koh
Filmmaker Liaison
& Technical Director
andrew@seattleaaff.org

LeiLani Nishime
Grants Manager
leilani@seattleaaff.org

Mariko Toyoji
Special Projects Manager
mariko@seattleaaff.org

Kristina Chu
Public Relations Manager
kristina@seattleaaff.org

Yaoyao Liu
Volunteer Director
yaoyao@seattleaaff.org

Hut Ugalino
In-house Designer &
Website Manager
hut@seattleaaff.org

Hyunjae Shin
Finance Manager
hyunjae@seattleaaff.org

William Ju
Print Traffic Coordinator
& Technical Manager
william@seattleaaff.org

Lina Truong
Events Manager
lina@seattleaaff.org

Em Halladay Ptacek Choi
Events Manager &
Programming Manager
em@seattleaaff.org

Shaun Wha Nieh
Events Manager
shaunwha@seattleaaff.org

 

Claire Jung
Technical Intern
claire@seattleaaff.org

Designers and Consultants

Simson Chantha
Designer

amber-150px

Amber Manuguid
Designer


Kevin Bang
Co-Founder, Advisor
 
Martin Tran
Advisor