Skip to main content

2014 Seattle Asian American Film Festival

About

The Seattle Asian American Film Festival (SAAFF) is a four-day event (February 6-9, 2014) showcasing feature-length and short format films by and about Asian Americans across North America, with an emphasis on filmmakers from the Pacific Northwest. SAAFF 2014 will be presented at Columbia City’s Ark Lodge Cinemas.

OUR MISSION

SAAFF showcases works by Northwest Asian American filmmakers, as well as films from across the country dealing with Asian American people, issues and themes, which are absent from other local festivals.

SAAFF is the only film festival in Seattle to provide a space for Asian American voices, perspectives and histories by screening independent films that reflect the diversity and richness of the city’s Asian American community.

BRIEF HISTORY

From 2003-2007, The Northwest Asian American Film Festival (NWAAFF) directed by Wes Kim showcased works by Asian American filmmakers to Seattle film goers. Since 2007, the program has been on a hiatus. With the guidance of Kim, new festival directors Kevin Bang and Vanessa Au revived the program in 2013 and gave the event a new name — Seattle Asian American Film Festival.

MEET THE TEAM

Kevin Bang
Co-Director
kevin@seattleaaff.org

Vanessa Au
Co-Director
vanessa@seattleaaff.org

Martin Tran
Artist Liaison and Community Outreach
martin@seattleaaff.org

Su-ching Wang
Event and Programming Manager
suching@seattleaaff.org

Christopher Patterson
Grant Writer and Programming Manager
chris@seattleaaff.org

Marites Mendoza
PR Manager
marites@seattleaaff.org

Denzil Kriekenbeek
Interactive Producer
denny@seattleaaff.org

Victoria Ju
Volunteer and Event Manager
vicky@seattleaaff.org

Sabrina Chen
Marketing Communications Manager
sabrina@seattleaaff.org

Stacey Gynn Swanby
Event Manager
stacey@seattleaaff.org

Wes Kim
Advisor

Leilani Nishime
Grants Consultant

Gina McDonald
Creative Consultant

Kristen Navaluna
Intern Extraordinaire